Criminal Punishment for Misdemeanors in Texas

Criminal Punishment for Misdemeanors in Texas

Facing criminal charges can be a scary process. What may have been a simple mistake can leave you looking for a criminal defense attorney Allen TX. You may wonder what kind of repercussions you’ll face if you are charged with a crime. Sentencing in Texas depends on what category your crime falls into. Here are some examples of misdemeanor classifications and the type of penalties you may face. 

Class C Misdemeanors

Class C misdemeanors are considered the lowest level when it comes to criminal offenses. They can include fines of up to $500 and may or may not include jail time. You still have the right to a trial for this level of offense if you’d like one. Generally speaking, most traffic violations or tickets are considered class C misdemeanors. 

Class B Misdemeanors

When it comes to class B misdemeanors, this may involve up to 6 months in jail and a fine of no more than $2000. Two or three years of probation may also be assigned. In general, first-time offenders may have the opportunity to receive deferred adjudication. This requires a defendant to plead either guilty or no contest before a trial. After this happens, they may get their case dismissed after a period of probation is completed. 

Class A Misdemeanor

A Class A misdemeanor in Texas is the most severe type of misdemeanor and can involve more jail time and higher fines. A deferred adjunction is still an option for first-time offenders. The punishment for this class of misdemeanor may involve up to a year in jail and a fine of up to $4000. Probation of two or three years may also be necessary. 

Depending on the severity of the crime and your previous criminal record, you may or may not end up serving jail time for a misdemeanor. 

Posted in Law
Author Image
Earl Barnes